Featured post

Ballyvolane v Mayfield 06.06.04. City Cup Final

Ballyvolane v Mayfield 06.06.04
City Cup Final
Please keep sharing and retweeting these pics. And, if you can, let clubs that are not on Facebook or Twitter and those that have folded know about them. Please share these photos on the internet as best you can as a lot of work has gone into them. When sharing individual photos on social media, please credit @CorkBilly on Facebook . Be sure too to download and keep copies for your own club.



Ballyvolane 1 Mayfield United 2

Substitute Alan Kelly grabbed his chance for glory as goal gave Mayfield United a 2-1 victory over Ballyvolane in the final of the Murphy’s Stout City Challenge Cup at Turner’s Cross last night.

Kelly took advantage of hesitancy in the underdogs' defence four minutes into the first period of extra time and, from 30 yards, set off towards goal. Keeper Paul O'Sullivan got a touch but not enough to prevent Mayfield from becoming the first winners of the Wigginton and Ludzic Memorial Cup, the new trophy for this competition.
Ballyvolane came up with a cracking opener. It arrived in the 16th minute, created by Adrian McDonnell and the finish superbly executed by Steven O'Keeffe.

Ballyvolane were pushed back into their own territory both before and after half-time and it was no surprise that Mayfield equalised in the 54th minute. 

Outstanding full back Ger Forde was involved in the early stages of the build-up and then Kenny, his back to goal, slipped the ball through to Saville who outpaced Ger O’Riordan before firing low past keeper O’Sullivan.

Ballyvolane player-manager Derek Mellerick came on for the second period of extra time and they fought hard for an equaliser and, in the opening minute, Peter Nugent wasn't too far away from connecting with an Adrian McDonnell free and later on, Magnier saw his drive hit the side netting.

In between, Kelly came close to doubling the Mayfield advantage, narrowly over off a Noel O'Brien cross, but the goal he did score was enough to give Mayfield the trophy and condemn Ballyvolane to their second defeat in a final at the Cross in the space of seven days.

Ballyvolane: Paul O'Sullivan, Conor Madden, Liam O'Riordan, Gerard Cronin, Gerard O'Riordan, Tony O’Donnell, Adrian McDonnell, Dave Keohane, John Magnier, Peter Nugent and Steven O’Keeffe. Subs used: Kevin O’Shea for O'Riordan (77) and Derek Mellerick for Keohane (half-time in extra time).
Mayfield United: Brian Ramsell, John Warren, Ger Forde, Paul Keegan, Mick Brosnan, Niall O'Sullivan, Tim Twomey, Adrian Saville, Simon O'Leary, Dave Kenny and Sean Madden. Subs used: Alan Kelly for Kenny (74). Noel O’Brien for Twomey (76).
Referee: Florrie Mehigan.