Featured post

AUL Photos from 29 years ago. Coachford defeat Passage to win their first ever AOH Cup

AUL Photos from 29 years ago.

Coachford defeat Passage to win their first ever AOH Cup.

Pics taken 23.05.1993. Ref: R159 & R162

First AOH Cup for Coachford

Passage 0 Coachford 1

COACHFORD won the Murphy's Stout AOH Cup for the first time when they defeated a youthful Passage side 1-0 in Sunday's well-attended decider at Turner's Cross.

Passage looked the better side in the opening quarter but gradually the strong four-man midfield line of Coachford took a grip on the game. There were few clear-cut chances in the opening half, the best falling to Brian Hennessy of Passage after a return pass from Tony Leahy. Hennessy's 18-yard shot was charged down by Paddy Martin. 

Coachford had the edge in the third quarter and took the lead in the 67th minute. Midfielder Moynihan's pass put Timmy Buckley clear on the left and his angled shot went in by the far post.

Passage attacked for much of the rest of the game. Coachford had a few scares but keeper Mick Murphy was rarely troubled and they held on to take the coveted trophy. Coachford midfielder Moynihan was the Murphy's Stout Man of the Match.

Coachford M. Murphy (Capt). T. O'Regan, J. Martin. D. O'Connell. M. O'Connell. M. Walsh, J. McGrath, P. Martin. D. Murphy. J. Moynihan, T. Ruckley. Subs D. Casey and F. Murphy.

Passage R. Cole, D. O'Callaghan. J. Flaherty, D. O'Brien. P. Cronin, C. O'Connell. P. Coughlan (Capt.). G. Curtin, T. Hanlon. T. Leahy, B. Hennessy. Subs. B. Murphy and A. Whitty.

Referee M. Dorrity.

Shakehands (from left): M. Murphy (C), D. Morley, M. Dorrity (Ref.), P. Coughlan (P),
B. O'Regan and J. Murphy


Coachford skipper Michael Murphy

Man of Match Johnny Moynihan