Featured post

Evergreen v Afton Villa 06.11.04

Evergreen v Afton Villa 06.11.04
Please keep sharing and retweeting these pics. And, if you can, let clubs that are not on Facebook or Twitter and those that have folded know about them. Please share these photos on the internet as best you can as a lot of work has gone into them. When sharing individual photos on social media, please credit @CorkBilly on Facebook . Be sure too to download and keep copies for your own club.
Gary O'Leary (Afton), Tom Lynch (referee), Eamonn Hayes (Evergreen

The Evergreen side that defeated Afton Villa in Saturday's AUL game at The Farm. -- Billy Lyons 06.11.04

AUL 2 
Evergreen 2 Afton Villa 1

Michael Murphy struck the second half winner as Evergreen recorded their first AUL 2 victory of the season, a 2-1 decision over visitors Afton Villa at The Farm. It was a deserved win for the home side. They made more of the scoring chances. Villa had their opportunities also but over-elaboration in the attacking area cost them.

Villa’s 27th minute opener followed a Shane Dwyer corner. The Evergreen backs failed to deal with it and Finny Kirstein was on hand to drill the ball into the back of the net. 

Evergreen responded well and equalised ten minutes later.  Shane Fuller’s measured pass put Ciaran O'Shea in a shooting position and he carefully directed his effort beyond the reach of Ian Aherne and into the net.

Evergreen’s bright start to the second half paid off in the 53rd minute. Then, Michael Murphy was allowed all the time in the world to steady himself before directing the ball to the left of Aherne and putting his side ahead at 2-1. 

Fuller was a thorn in the Villa side for much of the match and was very unlucky about ten minutes later to see his 35-yard free kick come off a post.

Evergreen: Rory Gibbons, Damien O’Connor, Cormac Harrington, Brian Maher, Mark Maher, Richard O’Reilly, Ciaran O’Shea, Shane Fuller, Ian Geary, Michael Murphy and Eamon Hayes (captain) Subs: Paul Hogan, Leonard McCarthy and Neil Cregan.
Afton Villa: Ian Aherne, Kevin Kirstein, Brian O’Leary, Johnny Murphy, Paul Buckley, Paul O’Connor, Gary O'Leary (captain), Shane Dwyer, Derek O’Leary, Robbie Kelly and Finny Kirstein. Subs: James Corcoran, Barry O’Shea and Mark Smyth.
Referee: Tom Lynch
Afton Villa lost to Evergreen