Featured post

Mayfield United Photographs 1980-2001

Dunbar Celtic v Blarney Utd 02.05.2004

Dunbarx Celtic v Blarneyx Utd 02.05.2004
Details below
Please keep sharing and retweeting these pics. And, if you can, let clubs that are not on Facebook or Twitter and those that have folded know about them. Please share these photos on the internet as best you can as a lot of work has gone into them. When sharing individual photos on social media, please credit @CorkBilly on Facebook . Be sure too to download and keep copies for your own club.

Blarney 18s

Dunbar 18s

Dunbar Celtic 2 Blarney Utd 1
Dunbar Celtic are the champions in Youths 1A following a tremendous 2-1 win over top challengers Blarney Utd at Murphy’s Farm on Sunday afternoon. 

Flying winger Ross O’Rourke put Blarney in front in the first half before Craig O’Leary emerged as a Dunbar hero by scoring twice in the second. But the nod for man of the match went to Dunbar’s goalkeeper Gary Duffy who produced a series of high class saves to keep his side in the game.

The first goal came in the 25th minute after both sides competed evenly in the early stages.  Ross O’Rourke produced a marvellous run when he skipped beyond two defenders before rounding the advancing Dunbar goalkeeper and slipping the ball into an empty net.

Dunbar had two good first half chances but Ross O’Callaghan fired over to waste a decent close range opportunity and, just before the break,  Craig O’Leary shot narrowly wide from 30 yards out.  

O'Leary equalised in the 54th minute. The Blarney defence failed to clear a corner from the right and the Dunbar man was on hand to blast the ball in.

Keeper Duffy made a quality save from Blarney’s Gavin Mackey in the 60th minute and, 15 minutes later, denied the same player when he somehow prevented a header from going in. At the other end, Blarney goalkeeper Michael Crowley made a double save when he pushed Dunbar’s Jason White’s effort away and then also blocked Liam Hewitt's effort from the rebound.

The Dunbar winner came in the 85th minute when, following a throw ball from the right, O’Leary slid the ball past Crowley and into the net. Dunbar were the worthy champions here with Blarney a very close and gallant second.

Blarney Utd: Michael Crowley, Eoin McSweeney, Killian Ryan, Colin Horgan, Denis Buckley, Darragh Sexton, William Fouhy, Gavin Mackey, Alan Vaughan, Dean Foley and  Ross O'Rourke. Subs: Donal Cashman, David Fogarty, Tim Donovan, David Lane, Terence O’Connor.
Dunbar Celtic: Gary Duffy, Martin O’Sullivan, Ian Cotter, Sean Russell, Jason White, Craig O’Leary, Liam Mehigan, Ross O’Callaghan, Liam Hewitt, Kieran Malone and Jason O'Donovan. Subs: Caoimh Fitzgerald, Stephen Smith, Ronan Malone, Daniel Flaherty.
Referee: Damien O'Mahony.