Featured post

Mayfield United Photographs Part 2

Leeside 17s v Dripsey 15.11.03

Leesidex 17s v Dripseyx 15.11.03
Match details below
Please keep sharing and retweeting these pics. And, if you can, let clubs that are not on Facebook or Twitter and those that have folded know about them. Please share these photos on the internet as best you can as a lot of work has gone into them. When sharing individual photos on social media, please credit @CorkBilly on Facebook . Be sure too to download and keep copies for your own club.

Leeside 2 Dripsey Celtic 1

Leeside enjoyed most of the possession and that was reflected in their 2-1 win over visitors Dripsey Celtic in AUL U17 Division One A. Leeside would have won by more had they taken their chances.

Leeside’s first goal came in the 15th minute. Ian O’Flynn was pulled down just outside the box  and Brian O’Sullivan stepped up to blast the ball beyond the reach of Dripsey’s goalkeeper Charlie Foley.

Leeside were awarded a direct free kick from almost the same spot thirty minutes later but this time O’Sullivan blasted over. In the 43rd minute, after good work by Errea Sports Man of the Match  Luke Hickey, Leeside’s Ian O’Flynn brought an excellent save from keeper Foley. 

Dripsey missed a couple of half chances before Leeside went two up on the hour. Then, Hickey got his head to a cross from the right and his glancing effort ended up in the back of the net.

The losers fought all the way and Brian O'Sullivan did well in the 73rd minute to nip across and end the combined raid of Dripsey’s Stephen Foley and Joseph Murphy. Then Dripsey’s Sean O’Mahony saw two power packed 30 yard efforts go just over.

Dripsey’s persistence paid off and they were rewarded with a goal in the 83rd minute.
Joseph Murphy struck a direct free kick sweetly into the top right hand corner of the net giving Conor McKnight in goal for Leeside absolutely no chance at all.

Leeside’s Luke Hickey won the Match of the Award for his tireless work throughout the 90 minutes. He also made sensible use of the ball and scored a good goal.

Leeside; Conor McKnight, Donal Glavin, Niall Broderick, Jason Broderick, Brian O’Sullivan, Rory Aherne, Tommy O’Sullivan, Eddie Tatton, Luke Hickey, Darren Sylvester and Ian O’Flynn.
Dripsey: Charlie Foley, Stephen Aherne, Kevin Foley, Peter Murphy, Colm Perrott, 
John Sheehan, Sean Corkery, Joseph Murphy, David O’Sullivan, Kevin Brennan and  Christopher Naughton. Subs used: Kevin Buckley, Sean O’Mahony, John Foley, Conor Corkery.
Referee: Denis O’Driscoll
Luke Hickey (Leeside), Man of the Match