Featured post

Mayfield United Photographs 1980-2001

Linnane Cup Semi-Final:
Leeside 4-1 Ballyvolane

Ballyvolane got off to a dream start when Mark O'Mahoney headed home from a corner after pretty poor defending from the Leeside defence after just one minute.
But, it was all square on 20 when Delea slammed home the equaliser.
Then, after a sweeping move that saw Colin Aherne pick out Conor Murray with a sublime pass, the Leeside striker worked a neat ball through for Derek Delea to fire home - giving Leeside the lead on 27 for the first time. After John Corcoran's decent low effort was pushed away by Jason Broderick in the Leeside goal, Delea should have had his hat-trick, but blazed over from in front of goal. But his hat-trick did arrive on 72 when he was on hand to squeeze home - making it 3-1. The goal of the game arrived with just minutes remaining when Ian Dennehy showed magnificant skill to befuddle his marker before planting his effort to put the result beyond Ballyvolane's reach - making it finally 4-1 to Leeside.

Leeside will now play Park United in the Final at the Cross on Monday, 7 June at 12pm.

The County Cup Final will be at 5pm on the same day between Park United B and Killumney