Featured post


When Grangevale were relegated to AUL 3 in 2007 one of Cork football’s oldest clubs was faced with a serious dilemma as it sought an immediate reversal in fortunes. That the club reinvented itself and emerged to fight its way back to two consecutive league titles is testimony to the resolve of the players, management, supporters, sponsors the Grange Bar and committee who refused to allow the club to die.

The renaissance began when the committee turned to a managerial novice and a wise authority schooled in a football life of hard knocks for leadership. Their choice proved decisive as the Neil McSorley and Pat Courtney tandem turned into a dream partnership.

Critical to Grangevale’s success has been the management’s ability to attract quality players to the club. John Carroll was the first major signing. Having won AOH Cup medals in his prime, Carroll brought a winning attitude that rubbed off on his team mates as Grangevale won the 2008 AUL 3 title.

Gary Aherne arrived from Douglas Hall and his outstanding performances have since been rewarded with an Oscar Traynor Cup medal. Meanwhile, the acquisition of Gerald McSorley added quality and strengthened the spine of the side. This season’s recruits Colin McKeown, Danny Meade, Danny O’Driscoll and Damien O’Callaghan were instrumental in Grangevale’s AUL 2 title triumph.

Another influential signing was accomplished defender Leonard O’Donovan whose presence and experience at the back facilitated a change to a more flexible 3-5-2 formation during the campaign.

Jason Martin finished the season as top scorer with fourteen league and cup goals, the high point being his double in the home win over Casement Celtic which was Grangevale’s best performance of the season. Team captain Dave Burke had the pleasure of lifting the AUL 2 Cup, appropriately in the presence of two former stars, Dave Hayes and Frank Lang.

To complete the club’s transformation, Grangevale’s patriarchs Donie Cronin and Dave Williamson supervised the provision of new dressing rooms and the redevelopment of the club’s playing surface at Grangevale Park as the club continues to go from strength to strength.

Grangevale’s 2009 AUL 2 winning squad: Gary Aherne, Peter Noonan, Dave Burke Keith Troy, Dave O’Sullivan, Leonard O’Donovan, Danny O’Driscoll, Barry Twomey, Gerald McSorley, John Harris, Dan Cronin, Malik Elmusbahi, Philip Holland, Danny Meade, Jason Martin, Johnny Carroll, Eric Maher, Diarmuid O’Neill, Shaun McCormack, Eric Kennedy, Paul Horgan, Trevor Foley and Brian Wade.