Featured post

Midleton AFC Photographs

Stuart Burns, manager of the Springfield side that won the league title in Murphy’s Stout AUL 3A, had little difficulty in picking out the season’s highlight.

“That was winning the league away to Los Zarcos. After a long season, the day that we all had been hoping for finally came. And we marked it with an impressive 4-1 victory, Shane Brennan getting a hat trick and Conor Hawes completing the rout to finally crown Springfield champions.”

The season’s nadir came in the President’s Cup, the knockout competition for third division teams. “Getting knocked out of the President’s Cup by Richmond was the low point. We had a very poor team turnout and that wrecked our chances of competing in Turner’s Cross.”

Hawes and Brennan battled it out in the goalscoring charts, each in the high teens while Luke Wilson and John McCarthy also hit double figures. Mark Farrell was the team captain and “led the team fantastically on and off the field all season long”.

As you might expect there were some great team performances as the Cobh side chased the title and Burns couldn’t split between the 4-2 home victory against Glen Celtic in Springfield, and the 3-1 away victory versus Cathedral in terrible conditions. “On both occasions the team did me proud.”

Stuart highlighted goalkeeper Greg Byrne’s performance versus Rathcoole in Rathcoole where he saved two penalties and made numerous terrific saves to help Springfield earn all three points on what proved to be a tricky encounter as their outstanding individual performance of the year.

Burns thanked Dave Kinsella and Peter Rowe for all the help with training and on matchdays they gave him this season. “Indeed, I would also like to thank the whole team on giving us 100% all season long and doing us proud.” With the addition of one or two players, hopefully from Stuart’s old schoolboy team, Springers expect to be challenging for the 2nd division next season.

The team also says a big thank you to their sponsor of the last four seasons, John Mansworth of Morrison Mansworth Financial Services. “And finally all the team would like to thank Billy Lyons for the great work he’s done in promoting the league and our club over the years. You'll be missed Billy! Enjoy your free weekends.”

Springfield B Panel: Greg Byrne, Kieran Brady, Brian Leahy, Dave Kinsella, Dan Lucey, Leon Keating, Trevor Rowe, Andrew Doody, Mark Farrell, Brian Miskella, Tim Crowley, Shane Brennan, Conor Hawes, John McCarthy, Luke Wilson, Ryan O'Neill, Nigel Carter, Alex Casey, Emmet Louth, Damien O'Leary, Pa Reidy and Jody Drennan.

Springfield will hold their annual John Murphy golf classic at the Cobh Golf Club (Marino Point) on Friday July 31st. Entry fee for a team of three is 90 Euro and the contacts are John Coughlan 0868157487 and Damien Rowe 0862252805.