Featured post

Mayfield United Photographs Part 2

Carrig's Stephen Dineen takes control at The Cross...
St Michael's Cup final

Carrigtwohill Utd 2 Watergrasshill Utd 1

by Stephen Moore

A Good Friday night turned into a great one for Carrig as they gave a brilliant display of football to beat the Hill and become the first side ever to retain the St. Michael's Cup. Carrig lost the toss and had to begin the game playing into a very bright, low sun. This didn't hamper them though and they immediately took the game to their local rivals.

On the wide Turner's cross pitch, Carrig's pace and movement cause plenty of problems for Watergrasshill. In the first 15 mins the Hill keeper made at least 3 good saves to keep Carrig out. Eventually the break came when the Watergrasshill defence headed a ball clear, high into midfield. Noel Furlong volleyed it perfectly into the path of Cian McSweeney, and when the keeper closed in, he as ever coolly slotted it home to open the scoring after 20 mins.

More chances game and went, but Carrig went into the break 1-0 up and looked the much better team. The second half produced more good football and plenty more chances. Watergrasshill began to get more control and attacked well on the break.

As Carrig pushed for the second, the Hill got their equaliser from such a fast attack. When a Cian McSweeney cross was knocked down into midfield, Watergrasshill broke and very quickly had a 3 on 2 situation. They played the ball out left and when the shot came in from the edge of the box Cormac Carroll slide in to block. Unfortunately the ball hit Cormac's leg, looped over keeper Adrian Kidney and hit the far post before going in.

carrig responded well and took back the lead within 10 mins. Stephen Dinneen controlled the ball on the right end line before cutting back and playing a cross to the far post. In appeared to be going over everybody, until Noel Furlong arrived and volleyed into the bottom corner from close range to put Carrig 2-1 with only minutes remaining.

From here Carrig controlled the game and never look like being denied their place in AUL history.

Team - Adrian Kidney, Cormac Carroll, Sean Madden(c), Shane Kennedy, Ian O'Donghue, Leonard Healy, Noel Furlong, Davy Barry, Stephen Dinneen, Stephen Kidney and Cian McSweeney. Subs - Darren Sylvester, Alan Walsh, Noel Gubbins, Sean Buckley, Brendan Cronin, Rob O'Donghue, Nielus Murphy, Derrick Nolan, Derek Healy and John Coleman.