Featured post

Anxious moment for Cork manager Richard Fitzgerald (right) and assistant Declan O'Regan.

Oscar Traynor semi-final
Match Report courtesy of Dave Dibble in Roscommon

Cork match into the Oscar Traynor Cup Final
Roscommon and Distract League 1 Cork AUL 2
Cork AUL are into the Oscar Traynor semi final win over Roscommon in Shiven Rovers ground in Roscommon but was made to flight all the way for their win manager Richard Fitzgerald was delight with his side display it was very hard but we were all out for this game and its nice to be in the final.

The game started brightly with end to end football with 3 minutes on the clock Cork won a corner on the right hand side of the park which saw Stephen O’Donovan out jump the Roscommon defenders to see his header go wide, Cork had another chance to open the scoring when Derek Varian saw his shot well saved by Michael Killilea in the Roscommon goal.

For the first 20 minutes of the game it was end to end but Cork looked the shaper in front of goal with Derek Varian and Paul O.Mahony were a real handful for the Roscommon back four, Cork won a free kick on the right hand side of the park just outside the penalty box, the ball was crossed into the box and Derek McCarthy turned on the ball and saw his shot go over the bar.

Roscommon best chance to open the scoring came on 29 minutes after some good build up play when Declan Murphy pick out Mark Duffy who cross the ball into the Cork box which saw Peter Keighry shot well saved by Paddy O’Regan,

The deadlock was blocking on 33 minutes when Cork won a free kick just out side the box Derek McCarthy took the free kick and scored with a great strike beating the helpless Killilea at the near post.

After Cork took the lead Roscommon turned up the pressure and were unlucky not to be level after a mixed up in the Cork goal mouth which saw the ball cleared of the goal line.

The first half ended with Roscommon on top but could not find a way through the Cork back four.

Gerry Tully half time team talk did the trick has Roscommon started the second half well on top, the first yellow card of the game went to Cork’s Derek Delea, with the wind at their backs Roscommon were camp in the Cork half looking to level the game but the Cork back four keep Roscommon at bay with some fine defending and some good luck

on 58 minutes Roscommon manager Gerry Tully made the first change of the game bringing on Ronan Curran for Gary Egan and Curran made a impact on the game with all the pressure it was only time before they were level, Roscommon won a free kick on the right hand of park with Declan Murphy picking out Kevin Flanagan who’s header went in of the near post to send out a big cheer from the home crowd,

but sadly the cheers did not last long, after some good play involving Derek Delea and Paul O’Mahony Roscommon Peter Keighry fouled a Cork player in side the box the referee pointed to the spot, the kick was taking by Derek McCarthy to put Cork two one with 25 minutes left on the clock.

The second yellow card of the game went Cork’s Paul O’Mahony, Cork first change saw manager Richard Fitzgerald bring on Shane O’Neill to replace Paul O’Mahony.

On 73 minutes Roscommon Conor McSharry pick the ball up just inside the Cork box but saw his shot go over the Cork crossbar.

With time running out for Roscommon, when Conor McSharry shot into a packed Cork penalty box which lead to a big shout for hand ball but referee Dynan waved play on much to the disappointed of the crowd.

Conor McSharry looked the man who could get Roscommon back level with the Cork team camp in their own half, McSharry saw his shot come of the Cork post it looked like it was not going to be Roscommon day, Gerry Tully side won back to back corner but could not get the break through his side deserve.

With Cork hanging on for dear life, referee Dynan ended Roscommon dream with the final blow of the whistle.

On the play Roscommon deserve to see the game go into extra time but sadly it’s Cork who goes into the Oscar Traynor Cup final and not Roscommon but you can be sure that Roscommon will be knocking on the door next season.

Cork Panel
Paddy O’Regan Anthony Peelo Jason Keegan Micky Bradfield Brian O’Sullivan Shane O’Neill Derek McCarthy Derek Delea John Betts Paul O’Mahony Derek Varian Colin Bevan Gary Aherne Michael Forde Stephen O’Donovan Graham Keane

Roscommon Panel
Michael Killilea Peter Keighry Kevin Flanagan Gary Fuery Jason Ward Gary Egan Robbie Brooks Delcan Murphy Conor McSharry Donal Warde Emmet Kelly Jason Clogher Mark O’Brien Mark Duffy Ronan Curran Daniel Browne Kevin Kenny

Referee Emmet Dynan
Ass Referee’s Ray Matthews and Eddie O’Riordan.