Featured post

Wilton United, Mall Tav LC winners May 80
for more old pics, go to http://corksoccerpics.blogspot.com


Wilton United’s aim at the start of the season and regularly re-stated as the campaign went on was to win the title in Premier A league and get to the Premier.

“And the lads did it,“ said a delighted team trainer Pat Rocks. “Great credit is due to all the players, most of whom have come up through the ranks at Wilton.”

“Our captain for the year was the evergreen Anthony Buckley who had a great year and showed countless times during the season why he is a top player and a great leader. Also we had three of the top six goalscorers in the league: Paul O'Mahony leading the charge with 21, and Pakie O’Connor and Shane O'Neill close behind. These three players firing in goals made the difference over the season.”

“We conceded only 15 goals all year. Again, our back line was outstanding, from the Players’ Player of the Year, our great “Italian Import” Alberto Palermo, in goal, to our defenders Phil Haly, Brian Kelly, John O’Mahony, Kevin Walsh and the classy rock that is Fergal Giltinan. Overall the squad as a whole trained hard during the year and they got their rewards.”

“The targets next year for the gaffer John Leonard and his assistant Brendan O’Sullivan will be to keep them up there in the Premier League, get themselves established and maybe get a good cup run with it. But, as Grattan proved two years ago, it possible to come up and cause an upset and win it. With a couple of additions on the way and the hunger and attitude of this group of players you never know!!!”

“The title was won on the back of 12 straight wins and that is a great record in anybody’s book. The lads have already asked when is pre-season and we are all keen to get in there and mix it with the big boys.”

The squad was: Alberto Palmero, Brian Kelly, John O'Mahony, Carl Daly, Connie Leahy, Phil Haly, Kevin Walsh, Brian Leonard, Anthony Buckley, Shane O’Neill, Mark Ryan, James McCarthy, Maurice Fitzgerald, Phil Smith, Phil Haly, Fergal Giltinan, Paul O'Mahony, Pakie O’Connor, Edmond Quirke, Connor O’Neill and Sean Blake.

“As with any good side, all these players played their part and everyone of this squad was vital in the league success,” concluded coach Rocks.