Featured post

Ballyvolane Dec 84
for more old pics, go to http://corksoccerpics.blogspot.com



Ballyvolane held their AGM at sponsors Murphys Rock recently.
Chairman Derek Mellerick and all other officers were re-elected unopposed for another term. Michael Lynam was returned as Secretary and treasurer, Ger O’Riordan as PRO and Deccie Mellerick as assistant treasurer.

The chairman expressed satisfaction with the season as the A team finished 4th in Premier A in their second season to consolidate again but expressed a wish to challenge for the promotion places in the coming season. ” A few new faces together with a better commitment from some present players and we won’t be far away.”

He also paid tribute to Liam O’Riordan who came in late in the season as B team boss when all seemed lost in Division 1A but he kept them up by beating Inter City in a playoff amid great joy in Leeds Park. A special thanks to Donal Riordan of Leeds for preparing the pitch at short notice. Everyone was delighted that Liam has agreed to stay on as manager for next year with Deccie as his assistant.

Mellerick and Lynam will again call the shots for the Premier side. Premier captain James O'Shea was the player of the year and Colm McManaman won the second team award. Kevin O’Keeffe was a popular choice as clubman of the year. Chairman Mellerick says that training will commence early in July when both teams will meet at the club’s pitch at Whites Cross. “We are always willing to give lads a chance, so all are welcome.”