Featured post

2007/8 REVIEW


Highlight of the AUL season was undoubtedly Leeside's magnificent triumph in the Munster Junior Cup. The East Cork team showed great skill and spirit as they came from behind to pip Ballynanty Rovers and follow in the footsteps of Passage (2002), Greenmount Rangers (1997), Ballincollig (1989) and Douglas Hall (1988) and Temple (1987), as AUL winners in recent times.

“It was a remarkable campaign, considering the amount of injuries we shipped,” says club secretary Kieran Horgan. “Indeed, we played one Munster game with just 13 fit players. Our managers for the year were Gary Tobin, John O‘Sullivan, and Jimmy Barr O’Sullivan. As you know, Jimmy was involved in an accident in work and missed the last few weeks of the season. Now, we’re looking forward to defending the Munster Junior and also playing in the Munster Senior Cup for the first time.”

“We would like to thank all the clubs who rang and wrote to the club wishing us well before the final and also for the kind words and inquires about our injured manager Jimmy Barr.”

Leeside were also involved in the chase for the Premier League. So too were Glenthorn Celtic, Kinsale and Park but it was champions Grattan who sealed it with victory over Kanturk in their second last game. Wilton powered to triumph in Premier A.

Kinsale lost the Linnane to Ballyphehane but had considerable consolation late in the season when they defeated Park in the AOH final. Rathcoole and Ballincollig were among the leading first division teams. Blackstone were probably top team in the second divisions while Grangevale and Leeds won their third divisions.

Top three games: Ballyphehane’s win over Ballymun in the FAI and their Linnane final win over Kinsale, Leeside’s Munster Cup final win over Ballynanty.
Top three goals: Craig Donnelly’s winner for Leeside v Ballynanty, Adrian Nash’s late clincher for Rathcoole in Corinthians final and John Naughton’s free kick special for Postal v Ballincollig in AUL 1.
Top three players: Derek McCarthy (Kinsale), Mark O’Sullivan (Grattan Utd) and Derek Delea (Leeside).
Unlucky three: Park Utd (runners up Premier and AOH), Hibernians B (runners up 2B) and Glanworth (Runners up 1A).